Stations

Jour de marché à Sarlat

La Dordogne, la ville de Sarlat bateaux l'un des meilleurs et les plus authentiques marchés de la région. Les jours de marché sont les mercredis et samedis où les habitants et les touristes affluent vers la ville des environs de stock sur les meilleurs produits locaux. L'abondance de villas à proximité de Sarlat signifie beaucoup de touristes visitent ce marché, mais le nombre d'habitants qui s'appuient également sur le marché de Sarlat garde le sentiment authentique et traditionnel.Le marché prend de l'ensemble de la zone autour de la Place de la Liberté, rue de la République et de la rue Victor Hugo et les rues sont pleines de couleurs vives des tentes et des s... Read more

Alsace's Haut-Koenigsbourg Castle

The imposing Haut-Koenigsbourg Castle is one of France's most popular tourist attractions and welcomes some 600,000 visitors every year. The castle was originally built in the 12th century, then re-built in 1899 and is remarkably well preserved. The re-building was faithful to the original and the castle provides a great example of 12th century architecture. Holidaymakers staying in one of the many gites in Alsace will have a huge selection of castles to choose from for day trips and excursions, but Haut-Koenigsbourg is top of the list for most people. The castle enjoys a spectacular setting atop a rocky outcrop and commands stunning views over the surrounding villages and count... Read more

La Bretagne de la Ville de Lorient

La ville de bord de mer de Lorient est situé dans la Bretagne département Morbihan et se trouve à l'embouchure de deux rivières: le Scorff et le Blavet. Son emplacement côtier le rend parfait pour une journée pour ceux qui séjournent dans l'un des le charme rustique de gites dans Guebernez ou l'un des autres traditionnels français villages dans la campagne environnante.La plage la plus proche est à Larmor Plage, avec une populaire le dimanche matin au marché et un front de mer bordée de restaurants et de bars. Côté est, la Plage de Locqueltas, une vaste étendue de sable, soutenu par les dunes herbeuses, avec les bassins rocheux peu profonds qui sont parfaits pour... Read more

Bretagne des Meilleurs Festivals de la gastronomie par Bev Fearis

Chaque année, la Bretagne accueille une série de festivals consacrés à la nourriture, à partir des crêpes aux fruits de mer à malodorante de la saucisse. Bev Fearis, propriétaire de Gîtes Guebernez , ramasse son favoris.? Festival De Saumon Du 5 au 7 juillet Grâce à son emplacement et de l'histoire, de la belle ville de Port-Scorff a une forte connexion avec la pêche au saumon. Chaque mois de juillet, elle célèbre sa chère rose de poisson avec trois jours de musique et de divertissement, des ateliers de cuisine et des repas spéciaux, qui comprennent le saumon, bien sûr. www.festivalsaumon.fr La fête de la Crêpe 27-28 juillet La bretagne?s spécialité est... Read more

Le cadre Idyllique de la Côte du Pas-de-Calais

La plupart des Britanniques de la vitesse, mais Pas de Calais récompense ceux qui quittent l'autoroute et de passer quelque temps dans ce coin du nord-ouest de la France. Pour une plus pittoresque de commencer la conduite de vacances en France, la magnifique route côtière peut-être un peu de un détour, mais 75 miles de vues superbes. Pas-de-Calais est un assez plat de la région, sens de vues s'étendent à l'infini. Au début des années 1900, Pas-de-Calais attiré un grand nombre de riches Parisiens et les Britanniques qui ont afflué vers les plages de sable fin et intelligent hôtels. La région est aujourd'hui souvent ignorée par les touristes, qui passent sur leur ... Read more

Une Introduction à la france, de la Ville de Nancy

Si vous êtes à la recherche d'un cadre idyllique de vacances, séjour rustique, un gite Lorraine, est une excellente façon de profiter de la campagne française, tout en restant assez proche de grandes villes et les villes pour des excursions. La ville de Nancy est une grande ville dans la région Lorraine et dispose d'une multitude d'attractions et de sites pour les excursionnistes. 2013 est un excellent moment pour visiter Nancy comme la Renaissance fêtes, festivals et événements ont lieu partout dans la ville cette année. L'immense place de la Place Stanislas est l'un des Nancy principales attractions Patrimoine Mondial de l'UNESCO. Dans plus de 125 mètres de long, ... Read more

Une Introduction à Limousin

Le Limousin est une destination populaire pour les vacanciers Britanniques et il n'est pas difficile de voir pourquoi. Bénéficiant d'zones de beauté naturelle, la région est un excellent choix pour ceux qui souhaitent profiter pleinement de la campagne française. Les trois Limousin sont les ministères de la Creuse, de la Haute-Vienne et Corr?ze et chacun a son propre ensemble unique d'attractions. Le département de la Creuse est située dans le Massif Central et la Rivière la Creuse, qui traverse la région. Le paysage est caractérisé par de douces collines et de spectaculaires vallées. Le temps ici est un peu plus frais et plus humide que dans d'autres régions voi... Read more

Sortir à Vichy

La ville de Vichy est situé dans la région Auvergne et est connu pour ses sources. Censé avoir des pouvoirs de guérison, les sources sulfureuses attirer plusieurs milliers de visiteurs chaque année. Vichy a traditionnellement fait appel à une ancienne démographique, qui affluent vers la ville pour recevoir des soins de spa. Au cours des dernières années, cependant, la ville a fait un effort concerté pour promouvoir comme une destination des plus jeunes par des activités de marketing les avantages pour la santé de l'eau, pour tous les groupes d'âge. Vichy est très occupé durant les mois d'été, mais si vous êtes en séjour dans un cadre rustique Auvergne gite ... Read more

Dégustation de vin dans la ville Ensoleillée de la Corse

L'île française de Corse a d'excellentes sol pour la production du vin et vous trouverez de nombreux bons vins rouges et blancs sur l'offre dans les restaurants locaux, les vignobles et les détaillants. La meilleure région pour le vin est probablement Patromonio, situé sur la côte nord de la Corse où le sol est argileux et un peu plus froides climat côtier de créer d'excellentes conditions pour la culture du raisin. Où que vous soyez en séjour en Corse, si vous êtes un passionné de vin buff, il vaut la peine de la planification d'un ou deux jours pour explorer cette région. Si vous séjournez dans un des gites de France Corse de la propriété et de votre propre v... Read more

La Ville Historique de Saumur

Situé dans la pittoresque Vallée de la Loire, la ville historique de Saumur est un must pour les vacanciers séjournant à proximité. Il y a beaucoup à voir et à faire dans cette charmante ville, et c'est une populaire destination d'excursion pour les personnes séjournant dans l'un des nombreux Vallée de la Loire gites. Une grande partie de la ville son aspect unique et le charme vient du fait que la plupart des bâtiments ont été construits à l'aide de local en pierre de Tuffeau. Cette belle irisés, pierre donne une grande partie de la ville un fairty-conte-comme l'aspect. La ville principale attraction spectaculaire blanc château, situé au dessus de la ville. I... Read more

Top destinations

Our guide to choosing a gite in France.
Gite with private pool

Guides

Market Day in Sarlat

The Dordogne town of Sarlat boats one of the best and most authentic markets in the region. The market days are Wednesdays and Saturdays when locals and tourists flock to the town from the surrounding areas to stock up on the finest local produce. The abundance of villas near Sarlat means a lot of tourists visit this market but the sheer number of locals who also rely on Sarlat market keeps it feeling authentic and traditional.The market takes up the entire area around Place de la Liberte, rue de la Republique and rue Victor Hugo and the streets are filled with brightly coloured tents and stalls. All the usual vendors can be found here and regional specialties such as duck, ... Read more

Alsace's Haut-Koenigsbourg Castle

The imposing Haut-Koenigsbourg Castle is one of France's most popular tourist attractions and welcomes some 600,000 visitors every year. The castle was originally built in the 12th century, then re-built in 1899 and is remarkably well preserved. The re-building was faithful to the original and the castle provides a great example of 12th century architecture. Holidaymakers staying in one of the many gites in Alsace will have a huge selection of castles to choose from for day trips and excursions, but Haut-Koenigsbourg is top of the list for most people. The castle enjoys a spectacular setting atop a rocky outcrop and commands stunning views over the surrounding villages and count... Read more

The Brittany Town of Lorient

The seaside town of Lorient is located in Brittany's Morbihan department and lies at the mouths of two rivers: the Scorff and the Blavet. Its coastal location makes it perfect for a day out for those staying in one of the charming rustic gites in Guebernez or any of the other traditional French villages in the surrounding countryside.The closest beach is Larmor Plage, with a popular Sunday morning market and a beachfront lined with restaurants and bars. Nextdoor is Plage de Locqueltas, a vast stretch of sand backed by grassy dunes, with shallow rocky pools that are perfect for children to paddle in. On the other side of Lorient, and visible across the bay, is Port Louis with i... Read more

Brittany's Best Food Festivals by Bev Fearis

Every year Brittany hosts a series of festivals devoted to food, from crepes to seafood to smelly sausage. Bev Fearis, owner of Gites Guebernez , picks her favourites.  Festival Saumon July 5-7 Thanks to its location and history, the pretty town of Port Scorff has a strong connection with salmon fishing. Every July it celebrates its cherished pink fish with three days of music and entertainment, cooking workshops, and special meals, all featuring salmon of course. www.festivalsaumon.fr Fete de la Crepe July 27-28 Brittany’s specialty is the crepe, or the savoury version the galette, so it’s no surprise that it hosts a festival dedicated to the pancake. Each July, the M... Read more

The Idyllic Coastline of Pas de Calais

Most Brits speed through it, but Pas de Calais rewards those who leave the motorway and spend some time in this corner of north-west France. For a more scenic start to your driving holiday in France, the magnificent coastal road might be a bit of a detour but takes in 75 miles of glorious vistas. Pas-de-Calais is a fairly flat region, meaning views stretch on endlessly. In the early 1900s, Pas de Calais attracted large numbers of wealthy Parisians and Brits who flocked to the sandy beaches and smart hotels. The region is now often ignored by holidaymakers, who simply pass through on their way to the hotter beaches of the south, but the coastline here is definitely worth stoppi... Read more

An Introduction to the French City of Nancy

If you're looking for an idyllic rural holiday, staying rustic, a gite Lorraine, is a great way to enjoy the French countryside while still being close enough to major towns and cities for day trips and excursions. The city of Nancy is a large city in the Lorraine region and boasts a wealth of attractions and sights for day trippers. 2013 is a great time to visit Nancy as Renaissance celebrations, festivals and events are taking place all over the city this year. The huge square of the Place Stanislas is one of Nancy's main attractions and is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. At over 125 metres long, the square is impressive and is a popular meeting place. The square contains man... Read more

An Introduction to Limousin

Limousin is a popular destination for British holidaymakers and it's not hard to see why. Boasting areas of stunning natural beauty, the region is an excellent choice for those wanting to take full advantage of the French countryside. The three Limousin departments are Creuse, Haute-Vienne and Corrèze and each has its own unique set of attractions. Creuse is located in the Massif Central and the River Creuse runs through the region. The landscape is characterised by gentle rolling hills and dramatic valleys. The weather here is a little cooler and wetter than in other nearby regions but it can still get very hot in the summer. Creuse is home to a lot of farmland and some of t... Read more

Out and about in Vichy

The town of Vichy is situated in the Auvergne region and is known for its springs. Believed to have healing powers, the sulphurous springs attract many thousands of visitors every year. Vichy has traditionally appealed to an older demographic, who flock to the town to receive spa treatments. In recent years, however, the town has made a concerted effort to promote itself as a younger destination by marketing the health benefits of the springs to all age groups. Vichy gets very busy during the summer months but if you're staying in a rustic Auvergne gite in the surrounding Auvergne area, you'll be able to pop into the town to enjoy the sights before leaving the hustle and bus... Read more

Wine Tasting in Sunny Corsica

The French island of Corsica has excellent soil for wine producing and you will find many good red and white wines on offer in local restaurants, vineyards and retailers. The best region for wine is probably Patromonio, located on the north coast of Corsica where the clay soil and slightly cooler coastal climate create excellent conditions for growing grapes. Wherever you're staying in Corsica, if you're a keen wine buff, it's worth scheduling a day or two to explore this region. If you're staying in a gites de France Corsica property and have your own car or a hired vehicle you'll find plenty of wine producers offering tastings and tours to visitors. Patromonio's wine route i... Read more

The Historic Town of Saumur

Situated in the picturesque Loire Valley, the historical town of Saumur is a must for holidaymakers staying nearby. There is a lot to see and do in this charming town and it's a popular daytrip destination for those staying in one of the many Loire Valley gites. Much of the town's unique appearance and charm comes from the fact that most of the buildings were built using local Tuffeau stone. This beautiful, iridescent stone gives much of the town a fairty-tale-like appearance. The town's main attraction is its spectacular white chateau, situated high above the town. It's open all day in the summer months, with reduced hours in operation at other times of year. Built in the 14... Read more

Holiday Gites and Villas in France - Book Direct

Our guide to choosing a gite in France.
Gite with private pool