Reiseführer

Markttag in Sarlat

Die Dordogne Altstadt von Sarlat-Boote eine der besten und authentischsten Märkte in der region. Die Markttage sind mittwochs und samstags, wenn die einheimischen und die Touristen strömen in die Stadt, die aus den umliegenden Gegenden Bestand bis auf die feinsten lokalen Zutaten. Die fülle von Villen in der Nähe von Sarlat , bedeutet eine Menge Touristen besuchen diesen Markt, aber die schiere Anzahl der einheimischen, die sich auch auf Sarlat Markt hält es fühlte sich authentisch und traditionell.Der Markt nimmt das gesamte Gebiet rund um den Place de la Liberté, rue de la Republique und der rue Victor Hugo und die Straßen sind gefüllt mit bunten Zelten und Ständ... Read more

Alsace's Haut-Koenigsbourg Castle

The imposing Haut-Koenigsbourg Castle is one of France's most popular tourist attractions and welcomes some 600,000 visitors every year. The castle was originally built in the 12th century, then re-built in 1899 and is remarkably well preserved. The re-building was faithful to the original and the castle provides a great example of 12th century architecture. Holidaymakers staying in one of the many gites in Alsace will have a huge selection of castles to choose from for day trips and excursions, but Haut-Koenigsbourg is top of the list for most people. The castle enjoys a spectacular setting atop a rocky outcrop and commands stunning views over the surrounding villages and count... Read more

Den bretonischen Stadt Lorient

Die Küstenstadt Lorient liegt in der Bretagne ist Morbihan Abteilung und liegt an der Mündung von zwei Flüssen: der Scorff und Blavet. Seine schöne Lage macht es perfekt für einen Tagesausflug für die Gäste, in einem der charmanten, rustikalen Ferienwohnungen in Guebernez oder einen der sonstigen traditionelle französische Dörfer in die umgebende Landschaft.Der nächste Strand ist in Larmor-Plage, mit einem beliebten Sonntag-morgen-Markt und der Strandpromenade gesäumt mit restaurants und bars. Nextdoor ist der Plage de Locqueltas, eine große Strecke von sand, gesichert mit gras bewachsenen Dünen, und mit flachen, felsigen pools, die perfekt für die Kinder zum pad... Read more

Brittany ' s Best Food Festivals von Bev Fearis

Jedes Jahr in die Bretagne beherbergt eine Reihe von festivals gewidmet Speisen, von Pfannkuchen, Fisch und Meeresfrüchte, stinkende Wurst. Bev Fearis, Besitzer von Ferienwohnungen Guebernez , wählt Ihre Favoriten.? Festival Saumon Juli 5-7 Dank seiner Lage und Geschichte, der schönen Stadt von Port-Scorff, hat eine starke Verbindung mit dem Lachs-Angeln. Jedes Jahr im Juli es feiert seine gehegten rosa Fische mit drei Tagen Musik und Unterhaltung, Koch-workshops und spezielle Mahlzeiten, die alle mit Lachs natürlich. www.festivalsaumon.fr Fete de la Crepe Juli 27-28 Bretagne?s Spezialität ist der crepe oder die herzhafte version der galette, so dass es?s keine überra... Read more

Die Idyllische Küste von Pas-de-Calais

Die meisten Briten Geschwindigkeit durch, aber Pas-de-Calais belohnt diejenigen, die verlassen Sie die Autobahn und verbringen einige Zeit in dieser Ecke der Nord-west-Frankreich. Für ein schönere start in den Urlaub fahren in Frankreich, der prachtvollen Küstenstraße, könnte ein kleiner Umweg, aber dauert in der 75 Meilen von herrlichen Ausblicken. Pas-de-Calais ist eine relativ flache region, Bedeutung Aussicht Strecken auf endlos. In den frühen 1900er Jahren, Pas-de-Calais angezogen große Anzahl von wohlhabenden Parisern und Briten, die strömten zu den Sandstränden und smart hotels. Die region wird heute oft ignoriert, durch die Feriengäste, die einfach passieren ... Read more

Eine Einführung in die französische Stadt Nancy

Wenn Sie auf der Suche nach einem idyllischen, ländlichen Urlaub, übernachten, rustikal, einem Ferienhaus Lothringen, ist eine gute Möglichkeit, genießen Sie die französische Landschaft, während immer noch nahe genug, um Städte und Städte für Tagesausflüge und Exkursionen. Die Stadt Nancy ist eine große Stadt in der region Lothringen und bietet eine fülle von Attraktionen und Sehenswürdigkeiten für Tagestouristen. 2013 ist eine gute Zeit zum Besuch von Nancy, als Renaissance-Feste, festivals und Veranstaltungen, die stattfinden in der ganzen Stadt in diesem Jahr. Der riesige Platz der Place Stanislas ist eine in Nancy wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten und ist ein U... Read more

Eine Einführung in Limousin

Limousin ist ein beliebtes Ziel für britische Urlauber, und es ist nicht schwer zu sehen warum. Mit Bereichen von der atemberaubenden Schönheit der Natur, die region ist eine ausgezeichnete Wahl für diejenigen, die vollen nutzen aus der französischen Landschaft. Die drei Limousin-Abteilungen sind Creuse, Haute-Vienne und Corr?ze und jeder hat seine eigenen einzigartigen Attraktionen. Creuse befindet sich im Massif Central und den Fluss Creuse zieht sich durch die region. Die Landschaft ist geprägt von sanften Hügeln und Täler. Das Wetter hier ist ein wenig Kühler und feuchter als in anderen umliegenden Regionen, aber es kann noch sehr heiß werden im Sommer. Creuse ist... Read more

Aus und über in Vichy

Die Stadt Vichy liegt in der region Auvergne und ist bekannt für seine Heilquellen. Geglaubt, um heilende Kräfte, die Schwefelquellen locken viele Tausende von Besuchern jedes Jahr. Vichy hat traditionell appellierte an eine ältere demografische, die Herde, um die Stadt zu erhalten, spa-Behandlungen. In den letzten Jahren jedoch hat die Stadt, die eine konzertierte Anstrengung zur Förderung der sich selbst als eine jüngere Ziel-durch die Vermarktung der gesundheitlichen Vorteile der Federn ist an alle Altersgruppen. Vichy bekommt sehr beschäftigt während der Sommermonate, aber wenn Sie in einem rustikalen , Auvergne Ferienhaus in der umliegenden Auvergne-Bereich, Sie ... Read more

Weinprobe im sonnigen Korsika

Die französische Insel Korsika verfügt über hervorragende Böden für Wein zu produzieren, und Sie werden viele gute rote und weiße Weine im Angebot in lokalen restaurants, Weinbergen und Einzelhändler. Die beste region für Wein ist wahrscheinlich Patromonio, liegt an der Nordküste von Korsika, wo der Lehmboden und etwas kühleren Küsten-Klima schaffen hervorragende Bedingungen für den Anbau von Trauben. Überall dort, wo Sie an einem Aufenthalt in Korsika, wenn Sie ein begeisterter Wein buff, lohnt es sich, die Terminierung einen Tag oder zwei an die region zu erkunden. Wenn Sie in einer gites de France Korsika Eigentum und müssen mit dem eigenen Auto oder einem gemi... Read more

Die Historische Altstadt von Saumur

Mitten in der malerischen Loire-Tal, der historischen Altstadt von Saumur ist ein muss für Urlauber bleiben in der Nähe. Es gibt eine Menge zu sehen und zu tun in dieser bezaubernden Stadt und es ist ein beliebter Tagesausflug-destination für Reisende in eines der vielen Loire-Tal gites. Viel von der Stadt einzigartiges Aussehen und Charme kommt von der Tatsache, dass die meisten Gebäude wurden gebaut, mit lokalen Tuffeau Stein. Mit diesem schönen, schillernden Stein gibt viel von der Stadt eine fairty-Geschichte-Aussehen. Die Stadt Hauptattraktion ist seine spektakuläre weiße Schloss liegt hoch über der Stadt. Es ist den ganzen Tag geöffnet in den Sommermonaten, mit... Read more

Top destinations

Our guide to choosing a gite in France.
Gite with private pool

Guides

Market Day in Sarlat

The Dordogne town of Sarlat boats one of the best and most authentic markets in the region. The market days are Wednesdays and Saturdays when locals and tourists flock to the town from the surrounding areas to stock up on the finest local produce. The abundance of villas near Sarlat means a lot of tourists visit this market but the sheer number of locals who also rely on Sarlat market keeps it feeling authentic and traditional.The market takes up the entire area around Place de la Liberte, rue de la Republique and rue Victor Hugo and the streets are filled with brightly coloured tents and stalls. All the usual vendors can be found here and regional specialties such as duck, ... Read more

Alsace's Haut-Koenigsbourg Castle

The imposing Haut-Koenigsbourg Castle is one of France's most popular tourist attractions and welcomes some 600,000 visitors every year. The castle was originally built in the 12th century, then re-built in 1899 and is remarkably well preserved. The re-building was faithful to the original and the castle provides a great example of 12th century architecture. Holidaymakers staying in one of the many gites in Alsace will have a huge selection of castles to choose from for day trips and excursions, but Haut-Koenigsbourg is top of the list for most people. The castle enjoys a spectacular setting atop a rocky outcrop and commands stunning views over the surrounding villages and count... Read more

The Brittany Town of Lorient

The seaside town of Lorient is located in Brittany's Morbihan department and lies at the mouths of two rivers: the Scorff and the Blavet. Its coastal location makes it perfect for a day out for those staying in one of the charming rustic gites in Guebernez or any of the other traditional French villages in the surrounding countryside.The closest beach is Larmor Plage, with a popular Sunday morning market and a beachfront lined with restaurants and bars. Nextdoor is Plage de Locqueltas, a vast stretch of sand backed by grassy dunes, with shallow rocky pools that are perfect for children to paddle in. On the other side of Lorient, and visible across the bay, is Port Louis with i... Read more

Brittany's Best Food Festivals by Bev Fearis

Every year Brittany hosts a series of festivals devoted to food, from crepes to seafood to smelly sausage. Bev Fearis, owner of Gites Guebernez , picks her favourites.  Festival Saumon July 5-7 Thanks to its location and history, the pretty town of Port Scorff has a strong connection with salmon fishing. Every July it celebrates its cherished pink fish with three days of music and entertainment, cooking workshops, and special meals, all featuring salmon of course. www.festivalsaumon.fr Fete de la Crepe July 27-28 Brittany’s specialty is the crepe, or the savoury version the galette, so it’s no surprise that it hosts a festival dedicated to the pancake. Each July, the M... Read more

The Idyllic Coastline of Pas de Calais

Most Brits speed through it, but Pas de Calais rewards those who leave the motorway and spend some time in this corner of north-west France. For a more scenic start to your driving holiday in France, the magnificent coastal road might be a bit of a detour but takes in 75 miles of glorious vistas. Pas-de-Calais is a fairly flat region, meaning views stretch on endlessly. In the early 1900s, Pas de Calais attracted large numbers of wealthy Parisians and Brits who flocked to the sandy beaches and smart hotels. The region is now often ignored by holidaymakers, who simply pass through on their way to the hotter beaches of the south, but the coastline here is definitely worth stoppi... Read more

An Introduction to the French City of Nancy

If you're looking for an idyllic rural holiday, staying rustic, a gite Lorraine, is a great way to enjoy the French countryside while still being close enough to major towns and cities for day trips and excursions. The city of Nancy is a large city in the Lorraine region and boasts a wealth of attractions and sights for day trippers. 2013 is a great time to visit Nancy as Renaissance celebrations, festivals and events are taking place all over the city this year. The huge square of the Place Stanislas is one of Nancy's main attractions and is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. At over 125 metres long, the square is impressive and is a popular meeting place. The square contains man... Read more

An Introduction to Limousin

Limousin is a popular destination for British holidaymakers and it's not hard to see why. Boasting areas of stunning natural beauty, the region is an excellent choice for those wanting to take full advantage of the French countryside. The three Limousin departments are Creuse, Haute-Vienne and Corrèze and each has its own unique set of attractions. Creuse is located in the Massif Central and the River Creuse runs through the region. The landscape is characterised by gentle rolling hills and dramatic valleys. The weather here is a little cooler and wetter than in other nearby regions but it can still get very hot in the summer. Creuse is home to a lot of farmland and some of t... Read more

Out and about in Vichy

The town of Vichy is situated in the Auvergne region and is known for its springs. Believed to have healing powers, the sulphurous springs attract many thousands of visitors every year. Vichy has traditionally appealed to an older demographic, who flock to the town to receive spa treatments. In recent years, however, the town has made a concerted effort to promote itself as a younger destination by marketing the health benefits of the springs to all age groups. Vichy gets very busy during the summer months but if you're staying in a rustic Auvergne gite in the surrounding Auvergne area, you'll be able to pop into the town to enjoy the sights before leaving the hustle and bus... Read more

Wine Tasting in Sunny Corsica

The French island of Corsica has excellent soil for wine producing and you will find many good red and white wines on offer in local restaurants, vineyards and retailers. The best region for wine is probably Patromonio, located on the north coast of Corsica where the clay soil and slightly cooler coastal climate create excellent conditions for growing grapes. Wherever you're staying in Corsica, if you're a keen wine buff, it's worth scheduling a day or two to explore this region. If you're staying in a gites de France Corsica property and have your own car or a hired vehicle you'll find plenty of wine producers offering tastings and tours to visitors. Patromonio's wine route i... Read more

The Historic Town of Saumur

Situated in the picturesque Loire Valley, the historical town of Saumur is a must for holidaymakers staying nearby. There is a lot to see and do in this charming town and it's a popular daytrip destination for those staying in one of the many Loire Valley gites. Much of the town's unique appearance and charm comes from the fact that most of the buildings were built using local Tuffeau stone. This beautiful, iridescent stone gives much of the town a fairty-tale-like appearance. The town's main attraction is its spectacular white chateau, situated high above the town. It's open all day in the summer months, with reduced hours in operation at other times of year. Built in the 14... Read more

Holiday Gites and Villas in France - Book Direct

Our guide to choosing a gite in France.
Gite with private pool